School of Education Virtual Open House - Hebrew Union College - Jewish Institute of Religion
Skip to main content

You are here

School of Education Virtual Open House

Main Content

SOE Open House

Are you interested in designing meaningful experiences, leading change and innovation, and transforming lives and the world through Jewish education? Then our Master of Educational Leadership (MEdL) program is made for you!

Join us for some or all of our new, four-day self-curated School of Education Virtual Open House where you can learn more about our MEdL and concurrent Master of Arts in Jewish Learning (MAJL) programs designed for emerging career students. Experience an open house like never before! 

See the schedule below to help you decide which sessions you want to join. 

Registration closes Thursday, October 22nd at 5 pm PT/8 pm ET

If you have any questions or need assistance with the registration form, please email Rachel Katz at rkatz@huc.edu.  

If you have any questions about the open house schedule or the School of Education, please email Micol Zimmerman at mzimmerman@huc.edu.

For more information about MEdL/MAJL programs, please click here.  

For more information about all of our School of Education programs, please click here.

Schedule: 

Monday Oct 26th

11:30 PST/2:30 EST - Prayer: Campus-wide Tefillah Led by Ze’evi Berman, Education and Cantorial Student
1:00 - 2:00 PST/4:00 - 5:00 EST  - Office Hour with Micol, Recruitment and Leadership Development Associate
4:00 - 4:30 PST/7:00-7:30 EST - Creativity Lab with Theatre Maker Aaron Henne
5:00 - 5:45 PST/8:00-8:45 EST - Learning Session: Let There Be Creativity: The Creation Cycle in Action with Dr. Miriam Heller Stern

Tuesday Oct 27th

10:00 - 11:20 PST/1:00 - 2:20 EST - Course: Curriculum Design with Dr. Zeldin
12:00 - 1:00 PST/3:00 - 4:00 EST - Alumni Panel: A Career of Impact and Innovation
1:00 - 2:00 PST/4:00 - 5:00 PST - Office Hour with Micol, Recruitment and Leadership Development Associate
4:00 - 4:30 PST/7:00 - 7:30 EST - Creativity Lab on Play with Micol Zimmerman Burkeman
4:30 - 5:15  PST/7:30 - 8:15 EST - Learning Session: Israel Teaching Lab Sampler with Dr. Sivan Zakai 

Wednesday Oct 28th

12:00 - 1:00 PST/3:00 - 4:00 EST - Meet-up and Q&A with Current Students
1:00 - 2:00 PST/4:00 - 5:00 EST - Office hour with Elias Chajet, Student Ambassador
3:00 - 3:30 PST/6:00 - 6:30 EST - Concurrent Degrees in Jewish Non-Profit Management with Melissa Garai
4:00 - 4:30 PST/7:00 - 7:30 EST - Creativity Lab with Jo-Ellen Unger, Director of 6 Points Creative Arts Academy 

Thursday Oct 29th

11:30 AM PST - Prayer: Campus-wide Tefillah led by Cantor Haas
1:00 - 2:00 PST/4:00 - 5:00 EST - Office Hour with Micol, Recruitment and Leadership Development Associate
3:00 - 3:30 PST/6:00 - 6:30 - Scholarship and Finance Q & A with Roseanne Ackerly, Director of Financial Aid
4:00 - 4:30 PST/7:00 - 7:30 EST - Creativity Lab with Dr. Miriam Heller Stern, Director of the School of Education
4:30 - 5:15 PST/7:30-8:15 EST - Make a Difference While Making a Living: Graduate Residency Information with Rabbi Dr. Laura Novak Winer and Dr. Miriam Heller Stern 

Thursday November 12th 

8:30 - 9:50 PST/11:30 - 12:50 EST - Course: Leadership and Management with Dr. Zeldin