Coping with Trauma in a Violent Reality

Hear about how our reality affects our mental health, common reactions to this reality, and the tools we have available to support ourselves and others.

Date: Thursday, November 30, 2023
Time: 1pm EST / 10am PST / 8pm IST
Location: Online
Speakers: Prof. Judith Lewis Herman, Rabbi John Davidson, MD

Coping with horror, fear, pain, and the difficulty of dealing with everyday routines affects all of us, especially these days.

The Blaustein Center at the Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion in Jerusalem invites you to join a webinar on Thursday, November 30 at 10 a.m. PT / 1 p.m. ET / 8 p.m. IT. Register for Webinar.

Speakers

Prof. Judith Lewis Herman on “Crisis Responses for Victims of Violence”

Psychiatrist and Author of Trauma and Recovery: The Aftermath of Violence – from Domestic Abuse to Political Terror

Rabbi John Davidson, MD on “Love Inside a Ruin: One Doctor’s View”

Psychiatrist and Assistant Professor at Mayo Clinic School of Medicine, Rochester, Minnesota

Opening Remarks

Ghadir Hani

Moderators

Clinical Psychologist Dr. Ayellet Cohen-Wieder

Ruhama Weiss, Associate Professor of Talmud and Spiritual Care

Additional Information

  • Time for Q&A will be given at the end of each lecture.
  • Lectures will be in English. Simultaneous translations to Hebrew and Arabic will be available.
  • Participation is free upon registration.
  • A link to the webinar will be sent to registrants.