Pursuing a California Credential - Hebrew Union College - Jewish Institute of Religion
Skip to main content

Pursuing a California Credential

Main Content

During your time at DeLeT, you will be prepared to pursue a California preliminary multi-subject K-8 teaching credential.


What tests does the State of California require?

Candidates for teaching credentials must pass three Multiple Subject California Subject Examinations for Teachers (CSET) tests and the CSET Writing Exam or CBEST. The CSET fulfills both the subject matter competence and the basic skills requirements of the State. 

Click here for further information on the CSET and CBEST.

A test on the US Constitution is required, unless you have proof of having passed a college-level course on the US Constitution. The US Constitution test is a multiple-choice exam with a study guide provided with the testing fee. The test can be taken online.

Candidates are also required to take the RICA (Reading Instruction Competence Assessment) examination. Click here for further information.


Additional State requirements

Two Teacher Performance Assessments (TPAs) are required by the State. These are assigned, explained, and discussed in academic courses during the year.

A Certificate of Clearance is state-mandated finger printing and the first step in applying for the California  Preliminary Multiple-Subject Teaching Credential. All candidates for the credential must have a certificate of clearance before beginning to work in a classroom. 

When registering for the CSET, RICA, or CBEST, use HUC code 531 to have scores sent to DeLeT.