Teshuvah Working Group

About the Working Group

HUC-JIR’s Teshuvah Working Group was convened to help formulate a meaningful approach to repentance and reconciliation consistent with the healing needs of those impacted by misconduct. In March 2022, Rabbi Laura Novak Winer, Ed.D., and Rachel Margolis, RJE were named as co-chairs, and after enlisting an outstanding group of individuals representing diverse experiences at HUC-JIR, the working group began meeting in June 2022.

The group met and worked consistently through March 2023, when they formally issued their recommendations to the College-Institute.

President Rehfeld has accepted the Working Group’s recommendations in full and asked the members to continue serving in an advisory capacity while they are implemented. Planning is already underway and updates on HUC-JIR’s progress and implementation will be shared periodically.

Read the Teshuvah Working Group’s initial recommendations.

Read the Teshuvah Working Group’s final recommendation.

Teshuvah Working Group Members

Rabbi Laura Novak Winer, Ed.D. (’94, ’95), Co-Chair
Director, Master of Educational Leadership Program, HUC-JIR

Rachel Margolis, RJE (’07), Co-Chair
HUC-JIR Board of Governors
Union for Reform Judaism

Rabbi Dr. Rachel Adler (’12)
Professor Emerita of Modern Jewish Thought, HUC-JIR

Rabbi Meir Bargeron (’20)
Congregation Achduth Vesholom (IN)

Rabbi Josh Bennett (’94)
Temple Israel (MI)

Rabbi Jessy Gross Dressin (’12)
Repair the World (MD)

Rabbi Laura Geller (’76)
Rabbi Emerita, Temple Emanuel of Beverly Hills (CA)

Cantor Tamar Havilio (’96)
Bet Shalom Congregation (MN)

Rabbi Sari Laufer (’06)
Stephen Wise Temple (CA)

Rabbi Zachary Shapiro (’97)
Temple Akiba of Culver City (CA), HUC-JIR Board of Governors

Rabbi Dr. Kari Tuling (’04, ’13)
Congregation Kol Haverim (CT), Adjunct Faculty, HUC-JIR

You may contact the Teshuvah Working Group at TeshuvahWG@huc.edu. Emails will be read by Rabbi Rachel Maimin who is providing staff support to this initiative.