RSVP: Library Lecture Series (Fall 2020) - Hebrew Union College - Jewish Institute of Religion
Skip to main content

You are here

RSVP: Library Lecture Series (Fall 2020)

Main Content

Join us on Zoom for HUC-JIR Library's Fall Lecture Series. You can participate in these learning opportunities from wherever you are, and gain insights and scholarship from world-renowned scholars who specialize in a variety of topics.

"The Kabbalistic Trees (Ilanot) of the Klau Library" with Dr. Yossi Chajes
October 14, 2020 at 10:00 am Los Angeles / 1:00 pm NY & Cincinnati / 20:00 Jerusalem

After providing a general introduction to Kabbalistic “Ilanot” (maps of the Divine), Professor Chajes, a pioneer in the study of this previously understudied genre, will highlight and explain the significance of three extraordinary Ilanot in the collection of the Klau Library.

"Between Geography and Biblical Concepts: Early Maps of the Holy Land" with Dr. Rehav Rubin
November 12, 2020 at 9:00 am Los Angeles / 12:00 pm NY & Cincinnati / 19:00 Jerusalem

This presentation about early printed maps will discuss how maps of the 15-18th centuries were much more a graphic interpretation of the Bible than a realistic or geographical image of the Land of Israel / Palestine at the time. 

"The Hybridity of Yiddish Civilization" with Dr. Jordan Finkin
December 9, 2020 at 12:00 pm Los Angeles / 3:00 pm NY & Cincinnati / 22:00 Jerusalem

The history of Yiddish culture is marked by constant blending of elements from within and without. From literature to music to food to the very language itself, Yiddish civilization offers remarkable examples of cultural hybridity that sit at the very heart of its tremendous creativity. This talk will look into how and why that came to be.

 

REGISTRATION:

Please select each event for which you would like to register.