HUC-JIR Library Lecture Series - Hebrew Union College - Jewish Institute of Religion
Skip to main content

You are here

HUC-JIR Library Lecture Series

Main Content

UPCOMING SESSIONS  |  PREVIOUS SESSIONS  |  ABOUT THE LIBRARY

Join the HUC-JIR Library's Fall Lecture Series and gain insights and scholarship from world-renowned scholars who specialize in a variety of topics.

All sessions will take place on Zoom. Zoom access will be provided upon registration.

If you have any questions, please contact us at Klau@huc.edu.


 

UPCOMING SESSIONS

"Between Geography and Biblical Concepts: Early Maps of the Holy Land" with Dr. Rehav Rubin
November 12, 2020 at 9:00 am PT / 12:00 pm ET / 7:00 pm Israel

Register Today

This presentation about early printed maps will discuss how maps of the 15-18th centuries were much more a graphic interpretation of the Bible than a realistic or geographical image of the Land of Israel / Palestine at the time. 

"The Hybridity of Yiddish Civilization" with Dr. Jordan Finkin
December 9, 2020 at 12:00 pm PT / 3:00 pm ET / 10:00 pm Israel

Register Today

The history of Yiddish culture is marked by constant blending of elements from within and without. From literature to music to food to the very language itself, Yiddish civilization offers remarkable examples of cultural hybridity that sit at the very heart of its tremendous creativity. This talk will look into how and why that came to be.


 

PREVIOUS SESSIONS

"The Kabbalistic Trees (Ilanot) of the Klau Library" with Dr. Yossi Chajes
October 14, 2020 at 10:00 am PT / 1:00 pm ET / 8:00 pm Israel

The recording will be posted shortly

After providing a general introduction to Kabbalistic “Ilanot” (maps of the Divine), Professor Chajes, a pioneer in the study of this previously understudied genre,  highlighted and explained the significance of three extraordinary Ilanot in the collection of the Klau Library.

 

"Eating Your Blessings: The Special Rosh Hashanah Meal" with Rabbi Dalia Marx, Ph.D.
September 17, 2020

Rabbi Dalia Marx, Ph.D., Rabbi Aaron D. Panken Professor of Liturgy and Midrash at HUC-JIR's Taube Family Campus in Jerusalem, takes an in-depth look at the customs and liturgy associated with the symbolic foods eaten on Rosh Hashanah.


ABOUT

The HUC-JIR Libraries collect, preserve, and provide access to the record of Jewish thought and experience throughout the ages and to related fields and disciplines. The Library System has a responsibility to support the teaching and research functions of the College-Institute and a special goal to document Reform (Progressive/Liberal) Judaism. Operating through the four campus libraries, the aim is to optimize total resources with a minimum of unnecessary duplication.

Questions about the Libraries or the Lecture Series? Please contact us at Klau@huc.edu.