You are here

About Our Website

The HUC-JIR website is supported, in part, by the Jim Joseph Foundation, the Jewish Foundation of Cincinnati, the Golden Family Foundation, and the Irma L. and Abram S. Croll Center for Jewish Learning and Culture.

The website was designed by Free Range and constructed by Alley Interactive.

Questions, comments, errors? Please be in touch at


Website Development Team

Jean Bloch Rosensaft, Assistant Vice President for Communications and Public Affairs                

John Bruggeman, M.A., Chief Technology Officer

Justin Sovine, National Web Manager

Allison Glazer, Assistant Director of Communications and Public Affairs


Website Advisory Team

Administration and Faculty:

Rabbi David Ellenson, Ph.D., President

Rabbi Aaron Panken, Ph.D., President-Elect

Rabbi Michael Marmur, Ph.D., Jack, Joseph, and Morton Mandel Provost

Jane F. Karlin, Ph.D., Vice President for Institutional Advancement

Sandra M. Mills, C.P.A., Vice President of Finance and Administration; Chief Financial Officer

Rabbi Jonathan Cohen, Ph.D., Dean, HUC-JIR/Cincinnati

Joshua Holo, Ph.D., Dean, HUC-JIR/Los Angeles

Rabbi Shirley Idelson, Ph.D., Dean, HUC-JIR/New York

Rabbi Naamah Kelman, M.A.H.L., Dean, HUC-JIR/Jerusalem

Rabbi Renni Altman, M.A.H.L., Associate Dean; Director, Rabbinical Program, New York

Rabbi Kenneth A. Kanter, M.A.H.L., D.D., Associate Dean: Director, Rabbinical Program, Cincinnati

Rabbi Dvora Weisberg, Ph.D., Director, Rabbinical Program, Los Angeles

Rabbi Marc Rosenstein, Ph.D., Director, Israel Rabbinical Program, Jerusalem

David Mendelsson, Ph.D., Director, Year-In-Israel Program, Jerusalem

Cantor Bruce Ruben, Ph.D., Director, Debbie Friedman School of Sacred Music (DFSSM), New York

Cantor Ellen Dreskin, M.A., Coordinator, Cantorial Certification Program, DFSSM, New York

Michael Zeldin, Ph.D., Senior National Director, Schools of Education

Evie Rotstein, Ph.D., Director, New York School of Education

Rob Weinberg, Ph.D., Project Manager, Jim Joseph Foundation – Education Initiative

Richard Siegel, M.A., Director, School of Jewish Nonprofit Management, Los Angeles

Leah Hochman, Ph.D., Director, Louchheim School of Judaic Studies, Los Angeles

Nili S. Fox, Ph.D., Director, School of Graduate Studies, Cincinnati

Sharon Gillerman, Ph.D., Director, Magnin School of Graduate Studies, Los Angeles

Reverend Ann Akers, M.Div., Director, Doctor of Ministry in Interfaith Clinical Education, New York

Gregg Alpert, M.A.J.E., M.A.J.C.S., National Director of e-Learning

David Gilner, Ph.D., Director of Libraries

Laurel Wolfson, M.S., Administrative Librarian

Sheryl F. Stahl, M.S.L.S., Senior Associate Librarian

Rabbi Gary P. Zola, Ph.D., Director, Jacob Rader Marcus of the American Jewish Archives

Lisa Frankel, M.A., Director of Programs and Administration

Rabbi Richard S. Sarason, Ph.D., Faculty Chair, Cincinnati; Professor of Rabbinical Literature and Thought 

Rabbi Reuven Firestone, Ph.D. Faculty Chair, Los Angeles; Professor of Medieval Judaism and Islam

Mark Kligman, Ph.D., Faculty Chair, New York; Professor of Jewish Musicology

Rabbi David Aaron, Ph.D., Director of Scholarly Publications

David Ilan, Ph.D., Director, Nelson Glueck School of Biblical Archaeology

Rabbi Nancy H. Wiener, D.Min., Clinical Director, Blaustein Center for Pastoral Counseling, New York

Joel L. Kushner, Psy.D., Director, Kalsman Institute on Judaism and Health, Los Angeles; Institute for Judaism, Sexual Orientation & Gender Identity, Los Angeles

Clyde Parrish, M.S., National Registrar

Jeremy F. Perlin, J.D., National Director of Human Resources

Rabbi Rachel Sabath Beit Halachmi, Ph.D., National Director of Recruitment and Admissions, Director of the Office of Community Engagement, and President’s Scholar

Deborah Abelson, M.A.J.C.S., M.P.A., Associate Director, Admissions and Recruitment

Jessica Ingram, Assistant Director, Recruitment and Admissions

Fredi Rembaum, M.S.W., Assistant Vice President for Institutional Advancement

Andrew Grant, Ph.D., Assistant Vice President for Institutional Advancement

Cathee Weiss, Director of Development, Western Region, HUC-JIR/Los Angeles

Rabbi Elliot Kleinman, M.P.S.A., M.Ed., Chief Engagement Officer

Joanne Tolkoff, Public Affairs Associate, HUC-JIR/Los Angeles

Joy Wasserman, R.J.E., M.A.J.E., National Director of Alumni Engagement

Angele Osborne, Director of Donor Information Services

Bobby Covitz, M.S., Manager of Institutional Research and Assessment

T.J.Williams, Network Administrator

Sarah Weiss Hass, Communications Intern


Boards of Governors and Overseers:

Irwin Engelman, Chairman, Board of Governors

Jay H. Geller, Chair, Communications Committee, Board of Governors

Joan Pines, Chair, Central Region Board of Overseers; Board of Governors

Marjorie Miller, Co-Chair, Eastern Region Board of Overseers; Board of Governors

Kevin Penn, Co-Chair, Eastern Region Board of Overseers; Board of Governors

Sue Neuman Hochberg, Co-Chair, Western Region Board of Overseers; Board of Governors

Richard Sheiner, Chair, Student Welfare Committee, Board of Governors

Alyssa Gray, J.D., Ph.D., Mehlman Chair in Rabbinics; Faculty Governor

Andi Milens, Communications Committee; Board of Governors 

John M. Stein, Communications Committee; Board of Governors

Kathy Claybon, Communications Committee; Central Region Board of Overseers

Rochelle Ginsburg, Communications Committee; Western Region Board of Overseers

Samuel Simon, Communications Committee; Eastern Region Board of Overseers

Sylvia Posner, B.A., Assistant to the President; Administrative Executive to the Board of Governors; Assistant Secretary, Board of Governors

Zelda Goldsmith, B.A., Executive Administrator, Board of Governors


Student Advisors:

Adam M. Wright ‘14, Student Representative, Communications Committee

Rachel Bearman, President, Rabbinical Student Association, Cincinnati

Jordan Ottenstein, Chair, Student Ministration Committee, Cincinnati

Thomas Will Dilbeck, President, Graduate Student Association, Cincinnati

Dusty Klass, HaKesher Student Association President, Los Angeles

Ethan Prosnit, Rabbinical Student Association Co-President, New York

Jonah Zinn, Rabbinical Student Association Co-President, New York

David Mintz, Debbie Friedman School of Sacred Music Student Association President, New York

Arielle Branitsky, New York School of Education Student Association President, New York